Jamie Oliver Holdings, the food‑and‑media group behind the celebrity chef’s restaurants, cookery schools and television productions, filed its FY 2025 accounts with Companies House on 21 August 2026. The filing shows pre‑tax profit slumped to £1.25 million – a 48% year‑on‑year fall from £2.4 million in FY 2024 – while revenue was essentially unchanged at £28.4 million, just £160,000 below the previous year’s £28.56 million. In the same period the brothers paid themselves a dividend of £1.5 million, more than 40% lower than the roughly £2.6 million paid in FY 2024.
Financial performance in detail
The key numbers come from The Guardian’s report of the Companies House filings. Pre‑tax profit for FY 2025 is recorded as £1.25 million (GBP m) – down from £2.4 million in FY 2024, a decline of 48% year‑on‑year. Sales for FY 2025 are listed at £28.4 million, compared with £28.56 million in FY 2024, a change of –0.6% year‑on‑year. The dividend paid in FY 2025 was £1.5 million, versus an approximate £2.6 million in FY 2024, a reduction of about 42%.
| Metric | FY 2024 (GBP m) | FY 2025 (GBP m) | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pre‑tax profit | 2.4 | 1.25 | -48% |
| Sales | 28.56 | 28.4 | -0.6% |
| Dividend paid | ≈2.6 | 1.5 | -42% |
The profit decline is described by The Guardian as “almost halved”. The filing attributes the fall to one‑off costs, including expenses linked to a new cookery school, that were not present in the prior year. By contrast, the revenue side shows only a marginal dip, suggesting that the core operating businesses – restaurants, franchise outlets, cookery schools and TV productions – performed steadily enough to keep sales flat.
Dividend decision and its impact
Jamie and Jools Oliver, the brothers who own and run the group, received a dividend of £1.5 million for FY 2025. The Guardian notes that this amount is “more than 40% down on last year”. The reduction mirrors the profit slump: with less profit available, the board chose to cut the payout rather than maintain the previous level.
Dividends are paid out of retained earnings, so a lower dividend signals that the company is conserving cash. For shareholders – many of whom are private investors or family members – the cut means a smaller return on their investment for the year. For the brothers, the dividend forms part of their personal income from the business, and the reduction directly lowers that income.
Business context behind the numbers
The Guardian excerpt provides a snapshot of the group’s operating mix: “a strong performance at the group’s own restaurants, franchise business, cookery schools and TV productions offset a decline in royalties, licensing and endorsements.” This suggests that while the core food‑service and education arms held up, ancillary revenue streams that rely on brand licensing – such as product endorsements – fell.
One‑off costs linked to a new cookery school are singled out as a factor that pushed profit down. The filing does not break down the exact amount of those costs, and the company has not disclosed how many staff were involved or the capital outlay required. The lack of detail means the precise impact on the bottom line cannot be isolated beyond the overall 48% profit drop.
What the figures mean for different stakeholders
- Investors and lenders: The halving of profit and the dividend cut may raise concerns about the company’s ability to generate surplus cash. However, the flat sales figure indicates that the operating model remains resilient, which could reassure lenders that cash flow from core activities is still robust.
- Employees: The filing does not mention any redundancies or staffing changes. The company’s statement that the new cookery school generated one‑off costs, rather than a reduction in headcount, suggests that jobs may be secure for now, but the lack of disclosed headcount leaves the picture incomplete.
- Suppliers and franchise partners: Stable sales imply that demand for ingredients, equipment and franchise fees has not weakened. The dip in royalty and endorsement income, however, could affect partners who rely on licensing fees.
- Consumers: The steadiness of sales suggests that customers continue to visit Jamie Oliver restaurants, enrol in cookery classes and purchase related media. No price changes are mentioned in the filing, so the consumer experience appears unchanged.
What remains unknown
The Companies House accounts, as reported by The Guardian, do not disclose the company’s headcount, the exact breakdown of the one‑off costs, or the cash reserves held after the dividend payout. The filing also does not explain whether the decline in royalties and endorsements is a temporary dip or part of a longer‑term trend. Finally, the report does not state the future strategic plan for the new cookery school – whether it will generate additional revenue streams or remain a cost centre for several years.
Looking ahead
With the FY 2025 accounts now public, the next set of filings – for FY 2026 – will reveal whether the profit decline was a one‑off event or the start of a broader downturn. Analysts will be watching the profit margin and dividend policy closely, especially as the company continues to balance investment in new cookery schools against the need to protect cash flow.
For now, the numbers tell a clear story: Jamie Oliver Holdings’ profit has been cut almost in half, sales have held steady, and the brothers have reduced their dividend by more than 40%. The filing provides a transparent snapshot of the company’s financial health at a moment when investors, employees and consumers are all looking for signals about the brand’s future.

